enterpriseshaa.blogg.se

Omar s thanks for letting me be myself rar
Omar s thanks for letting me be myself rar







Less a ranking than a repertory, presented over the course of the next two weeks will be a succession of 10 themed mixes (count ‘em: that’s twice as many as usual). Par for our predictably wonky course, TMT’s Favorite 100 Songs of the Decade are not arranged with the airless authority of the list. All of which is to say that we at Tiny Mix Tapes are aware of the glorious futility of any enterprise as conceited as this. If only taste didn’t imply abjection or preference a failure to hold.īut curation demands scission, and we can only deposit some faith that its trimmings might help make something of this most recent and most harried time slide into the future. Nothing like an egregiously mixed metaphor to communicate an aporia, a kind of category mistake: I get the sense that we should be doing anything else with the incalculable amount of music released this decade than grasping at straws, while the lion’s share slips through our fingers.

omar s thanks for letting me be myself rar

Gleaning a decade’s worth of song in 2019 feels like sifting sand with a hula hoop, the enormity of the ever-accumulating archive sluicing through our woefully inadequate tools, its elusive pith elementally, stubbornly incompatible with the implements of capture at hand. Sometimes the most pyrrhic ventures prove the most gratifying.

omar s thanks for letting me be myself rar

Join us as we explore the music that helped define the decade for us. We are celebrating the end of the decade through lists, essays, and mixes.









Omar s thanks for letting me be myself rar